September 30, 2013 Nurturing Children's Genius ~ Guest: Kristine Barnett

Click Here to download podcast OR Click Here to download from iTunes.


Fall is here, the leaves are changing color and it's time to celebrate. We'll talk about having fun and enjoying this special time of year. Plus we'll get some tips for keeping our homes organized and running smoothly.

Then we'll talk to Kristine Barnett, the author of The Spark: A Mother's Story of Nurturing, Genius, and Autism. Kristine is a mom who bucked the experts and helped pull her son from the silence of autism to become one of the most promising physicists in history. We'll be talking to her about her story and what happens when parents encourage their children's passions instead of trying to remediate their flaws.

In Christmas Corner we're looking different, fun, and interesting ways of wrapping gifts.

Join us live at Noon ET (11 am CT, 10 am MT, 9 am PT)

  

Kristine Barnett lives in Indiana with her husband, Michael, and their three sons. In 1996 she founded Acorn Hill Academy, a daycare serving local families. She and Michael currently run a charitable community center for autistic and special-needs children and their families called Jacob's Place.

"The Spark describes in glowing terms the profound intensity with which a mother can love her child."
-Andrew Solomon, author of The Noonday Demon and Far From the Tree

"The Spark is about the transformative power of unconditional love. If you have a child who's ‘different'
-and who doesn't?-you won't be able to put it down."
-Sylvia Nasar, author of A Beautiful Mind

"With passion and grace, Barnett covers Jake's transformation, how close he came to being ‘lost' in a special ed system focused on what children ‘can't do'. . . . This eloquent memoir about an extraordinary boy and a resilient and remarkable mother will be of interest to every parent and/or educator hoping to nurture a child's authentic ‘spark.'"-Publishers Weekly

"[A] compelling memoir . . . Jake is unusual, but so is his superhuman mom." -Booklist

Return to the Heart Filled Holidays Show Page
Link to Article
Recent Shows
Title Date
Ep 1.25.16 Get What You Want with Better Communication – Lisa Giruzzi Interview
01-20-2016
Ep 1.18.16 Raising an Emotionally Healthy Child – Dr. G. and Jude Bijou Interviews
01-18-2016
Ep 1.11.16 Find Your Spark and Live Life with Passion - Marie Fleming Interview
01-11-2016
Ep 1.4.16 Real and Livable Weight Loss Solutions – Darya Rose Interview
01-04-2016
Ep 12.28.15 How to Work with an Introvert – Beth Buelow Interview
12-28-2015
Ep 12.21.15 Tech Tips for Parents – Jen Jamar Interview
12-21-2015
View All Podcasts
Subscribe to Podcast feed
Stay Connected

 

    

 

 

 

Free Gift

 

 

Google+